Meaning of "Death of a ladies' man"

General discussion about Leonard Cohen's songs and albums
Sane Man

Meaning of "Death of a ladies' man"

Postby Sane Man » Fri Dec 27, 2002 2:03 am

What do you think is the meaning behind the title of the album and the theme of the album? Does it have anything to do with Leonard Cohen's life situation at the time or any events that had happened to him? Was his life changing at the time so that he was going through a transition in life? I don't know any biographical facts about him, so I'm curious about this particular album and song title.

When listening to it I feel he is expressing a sort of humbleness towards women and in a way saying saying his appeal to them is gone. That he once had a sort of power and ability to make women fall in love with him (being a ladies' man, he has been called a 'womanizer', hasn't he?), and that he with the title of the album says that this has come to an end.

I have to admit that I'm fairly new to LC's music, so if I'm way off on this one, that's probably why. In any case I'm very interested in hearing some the more knowledgeable and experienced fans' thoughts on this.

Oh, and this is my first post here; I'm glad to be here!
"...and I'm neither left or right; I'm just staying home tonight getting lost in that hopeless little screen..."
linmag

Postby linmag » Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:59 pm

Hi, Sane Man,

Stina asked a very similar question to yours during an interview with Leonard a few years ago. Leonard said his reputation as a ladies' man was quite undeserved, and that he didn't need to try to put an end to it "the ladies took care of that". He added that he felt at a certain point that he "got creamed" in his personal relationships. You are probably absolutely right in your assumption that DOALM is about those feelings. In any case, your thoughts and feelings are as valid, and as welcome, here as those of any more informed member. I hope you will enjoy yourself here.
Linda