Artists similar to Leonard Cohen

This section is for all other music-related topics
healthyeatz

Artists similar to Leonard Cohen

Post by healthyeatz »

I've been searching for music with similar sensibilites to Leonard Cohen whether it's the poetic lyrics, interesting voice etc. If anyone can recommend some great. It's hard knowing what to check out musically. I worked in the music industry for years but it's all changed so I'm adjusting to the new scene but not sure who to check out. I did hear this artist the other day called Trevor Mcshane. His website is http://www.trevormcshane.net Anyhow, Trevor Mcshane has a really unique voice. Some of his material is very poetic and songwriter oriented. Some of it is more Americana than Leonard Cohen. "Port of Call" (on his "Dizzy" release) has some Cohen sensibilities, at least I think so. I'm sure he's got a myspace as well. If you go to the Trevor Mcshane website he's got some videos posted. One of them kind of reminds me of a Cohen tune. Let me know what you think. Please give me a couple recommendations as well. -Greg
Adrian

Re: Artists similar to Leonard Cohen

Post by Adrian »

I imagine this may be a too obvious recommendation, but, since it's not been said in this thread, I'll wade in these waters... :)

(And, if it's an artist of a newer generation you seek, then, I'm not going to be aiding you.)

From my perspective, and not just because I'm Canadian, the singer-songwriter with whom I most associate Leonard Cohen, and vice versa, in terms of supreme artistic sensibilities and integrity is Joni Mitchell.
"Why music?" "Why breathing?"
Birdonawire

Post by Birdonawire »

I'm sure these may be old hat to you but Tom Waits and Nick Cave are for me, the next best thing to Cohen. If not for their ability to work a lyric, then for their non-conformity to industry type/norms.