Leeds 19th May 1970

Recollections from Leonard Cohen's pre-2008 tours, YouTube clips
denispiggott

Leeds 19th May 1970

Post by denispiggott »

As a newbie, I hope this is the right place to place these clips.

I was a student at Leeds University in 1970 and was privileged to see Leonard Cohen's concert on the 19th May. There are some great photos on the university web site at http://www.alumni.leeds.ac.uk/NetCommun ... &srcid=509

I have also a copy of the Daily Telegraph review which was published a few days later - http://www.mediafire.com/imageview.php? ... zi&thumb=4 Sorry about the quality of the scan - it's a pretty old bit of paper but it is readable.

Last, but not least ( and I hope I'm not going to upset any copyright holders), I have an audience recording of the concert - the quality is ok given it was recorded on an early Phillips cassette recorder. It's in two parts and is the complete concert other than the final song (Please don't pass me by) where the tape ran out!

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?lmnzybnmymq

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?53dtmmyqjzj

This is vintage Leonard Cohen and I hope you all enjoy it.

Denis
sirius

Re: Leeds 19th May 1970

Post by sirius »

Hi Denis

This is very magical. I knew of this concert and nearly went myself from Manchester. (Although I did go later that year in 1970 to see Leonard at the Isle of Wight). Thanks ever so much for posting this. I am listening to the concert right now, much better quality than I expected. He reads some poetry too... wonderful. The photos are so evocative.

Vintage Leonard Cohen indeed.

Thanks again for posting this.

Peter

(Sirius)
We are so small between the stars, so large against the sky
Maarten

Post by Maarten »

What a way to make your first post! Thank you very much!
More info here:
http://www.leonardcohenlive.com/concert ... -05-19.htm

Maarten

2008 Manchester | Bruges | Amsterdam | London | 2x Brussels | Rotterdam |2x London