Poetry Project

This section is for any other poetry-related topics
philrose

Poetry Project

Post by philrose »

I've been writing poetry and songs for many years, posted a few on the forum here. I'm not a musician in any way but have an idea how some of my work could
be accompanied by instruments. There is an old, historic recording studio here in NW Florida, one with lots of history dating back to the 50's. Recently I got invited to take a look around and spend some time there just hanging out. I mentioned to the staff that I wrote poetry and songs etc and had thought about some kind of spoken word project. I have enough material for 3 CD's, all of which form 1 body of work along a particular theme. A kind of life journey in words.
I got a call today from the studio, they have a budget for community based music projects. Local musicians have offered to donate time to work on the project.
The studio have set up time slots for me to go in and record my spoken words and then the musicians will record music around it. I've never done anything like this before and I'm nervous and excited. Anyone have any experience of this?. I hope I don't make a fool of myself.
There are many spirits who stay restless in the studio and I've included a reference to that in one of my poems.
Thought I'd share this with our members. will update as we go along.
~~~ A Wandering Soul Mislaid ~~~
jacobqec

Re: Poetry Project

Post by jacobqec »

Anyone can learn to understand poetry. It's really not that hard.
First, I think you should understand most poets don't go around deliberately hiding meanings. (Perhaps T.S, Eliot and Ezra Pound are exceptions. The meanings are there for all of us to see.